New York City Marathon Training- Week 2

After training all winter through a Polar Vortex for Boston, I promised myself I would not complain once about training in the heat for New York.

And I won’t.

Because we haven’t had any.

As a runner, I’m beyond thrilled with the 60 degree highs predicted for the foreseeable future.

As a woman who lives on the beach, I stare at my favorite lounging spot with a longing I haven’t felt since I tried giving up coffee for a month.

Summer classes means two hour dates with my iPad and my beach chair. It's lovely.

Summer classes means two hour dates with my iPad and my beach chair. It’s lovely.

 

Monday brought me to week 2 of training for NYCM and I must say I am feeling mentally better and physically stronger with each run. I’m still not as fast as I’d like to be, but I’m not concerning myself with that right now. I’m finishing every run feeling like I could keep going, and I’m meeting the goals of each workout.

I still don't like that workouts done on different days are not green. It saddens my OCD.

I still don’t like that workouts done on different days are not green. It saddens my OCD.

 

Wednesdays and Fridays are my 2 job days, so I move each of those runs to Thursday and Sunday. This Monday I ran three easy miles as a recovery from Saturdays 5-mile “long run”.

Tuesday brought me to my second ever attempt at a Fartlek. I decided to go for a treadmill run because it would be easier to time my two minutes as well as up/decline the speed as needed. I wanted to make sure there was a significant increase in pace- that it didn’t just feel significant.

I’m terrible at gauging my speed on my own. There are some days I feel sluggish and still come in at my normal 10:20/miles, and other days I feel like I’m breaking land speed records only to have my voiceover inform me that last mile took me nearly 11:30. The safety net of the treadmill at least allows me to not have to question myself or slow down by looking at my arm every 30 seconds.

Turns out, treadmill was the way to go. I Fartleked. This is not a word. I know, squiggly red line. Stop mocking me. 

Yay for intervals!

Yay for intervals!

 

I felt amazing for the rest of the day and all night at work. I finally started feeling like a runner again.

Until Wednesday morning.

Ouch. My legs were not used to two 5 mile runs in 4 days. I should apologize to them for the shock.

Knowing how sore I was yesterday I was slightly nervous before heading out this afternoon for todays 3 “easy miles” . My only solace came when reading the description of the run my favorite line appeared: “When in doubt, just slow down!”

Turns out, I didn’t need to slow as much as I was worried I’d have to. It wasn’t a fast run, but it was a comfortable one with a walk break after the big hill at 1.25miles. I’m ok with it for this stage of training.

Wan't perfect, but I'll take it.

Wan’t perfect, but I’ll take it.

 

Walking in I expected Buster to offer his usual greeting of slobber and jumping. Instead, I found this.

 

Asleep on the bed, snuggled with Hank- His English Bulldog beanie baby. This is what love looks like.

Asleep on the bed, snuggled with Hank- His English Bulldog beanie baby. This is what love looks like.

And then I joined them.

 

What fall races is everyone training for right now? Who will I be seeing in New York? Comment and let me know so we can be friends. Friends are the best. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

