New York City Marathon Training: A Fresh Start

This weekend I decided to take off from workouts all together. I knew my NYCM training started on Monday, so I wanted to enjoy my last weekend without a long run to it’s fullest potential. I also had a ton of wedding stuff to do, so that occupied most of my time.

First, I met up with my brother (aka Man of Honor) at the wedding venue for lunch and a few drinks. We hadn’t seen each other in about a month, which is completely unacceptable  by our standards, so it was nice to relax and catch up. The pretty drinks only made things better.

My happy place.

My happy place.

After lunch we went out on the boat for a quick ride and pretended it felt like summer. It’s been nice, but not summer-ish. Considering the awful Polar Vortex winter we all just suffered through I think we deserve some serious summer weather sooner rather than later. So we took the boat out with Jim, Buster and Buster’s girlfriend Sage. They loved it. In fact, they were so happy they tried to run away together. Thankfully Jim caught them before they got too far off the dock.

Such a sweet couple.

Such a sweet couple.

 

Bonnie and Clyde wannabes. Thankfully Jim caught up with them.

Bonnie and Clyde wannabes. Thankfully Jim caught up with them.

 

Sunday was more wedding errands, wrapping up the registry and trying on wedding bands. It’s kind of surreal every time we go do these grown up wedding things, but they’re getting more and more fun as the planning goes on.

And then it came. Yesterday was the day. My training for the New York City Marathon officially began!

With a rest day.

 

Day 1: Rest. I can do that.

Day 1: Rest. I can do that.

 

 

Yeah, it was the most anti-climactic start to anything I’d ever experienced. So waking up this morning, knowing today I’d get to RUN… I was excited to say the least. As I’ve said before, I’m using the 24-week Nike+ Marathon Training Plan. I like it not only because it lays out your workouts in a very easy to digest fashion, but also gives you day by day workout detail, encouraging voice overs during your run and compares your runs to each other for you.

 

I giggle when I read "Fartlek". I'm a grown up.

I giggle when I read “Fartlek”. I’m a grown up.

 

One update I’d really like to see is a voice over after the 1-mi warm-up that times your two minute intervals for you. I know my opinion is SO important to the Nike+ developers, so I’ll expect this in the next update. Thank you in advance.

I’m working on moving my workouts to earlier in the morning to ensure they are done before anything can disrupt my day and force me to miss a workout. I work at the restaurant Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Friday nights (sometimes more) and since my classes for the summer semester are online, I picked up a day job a couple days a week at a local golf course to help pay for the wedding. I’ll be the girl driving around the golf cart full of beer. This new gig requires me to bring at least one book and my iPad to “keep myself entertained” and my uniform is Yoga pants. Something tells me I’m going to like this new job just fine.

Since I had no day job today I made it a point to be out of the house by 9:30 for my run. With the summer months approaching 9:30 will probably be the latest I can get out for my run without serious risk of heat stroke, dehydration or terrible sports bra tan lines. I chugged half of my coffee chased with a pint glass full of water, hit the bathroom then was out of the house.

Coach Nike insisted I go easy for the first mile so I went out feeling comfortable but somewhat restrained. I kept telling myself this was day 1, no need to burn myself out just yet. By the time the nice Nike lady came over my headphones to tell me I’d completed the first mile I was ready to ramp it up.

Mistake 1: I forgot to switch back to slow after the first two minutes. Again, this is where the whole “Two minutes are done, rein it in, Byron” voice over would help. 9-minutes later I was told I’d hit mile two. Oops.

 

Mile 2 was no supposed to be the speediest. At least not by that much.

Mile 2 was no supposed to be the speediest. At least not by that much.

Miles three and four were extra slow to make up for the extra push I’d given at mile 2. Not a perfect Fartlek, but for my first I’m at least proud I managed to change up the pace. I’ve always gone out for runs and just run. Sometimes there was a time goal, but most of the time it was just to hit a distance and be done with it. I like the change up and having a new purpose for every run.

Hitting the 4 mile mark felt great. I felt like I’d gotten in a workout, but didn’t feel drained. I easily could have kept going for another couple miles, which was how I had hoped I’d feel today.

I walked through the front door beaming with excitement about a training cycle starting off so well. Buster was very happy for me.

He celebrates with naps.

He celebrates with naps.

 

A strong run was exactly what I needed to feel confident about trying 26.2 again. I know there will be terrible days mixed in with these great ones, but I’m excited to feel this great a few more times before November 2.

 

Who else is taking the long approach to NYCM training? Any veterans of the race out there to offer me amazing advice? Or at least tell me if bus or ferry is a better option for getting to the start. That would be great. 

One thought on “New York City Marathon Training: A Fresh Start

Leave a Reply

