The Best of Times, The Worst of Times: 2013, You Confused Me.

2013 is coming to a close and society deems this a time to reflect. To be entirely honest, I have no idea how I will remember 2013 when I’m older and wiser. Right now, I’m simply confused by it. 2013 say the best days of my life as well as the worst. I was blessed with so much positive change but also had to go through so much emotional turmoil that I honestly never thought I’d return to my old self. I guess I probably haven’t.

I like to think of myself as an optimist who sees the positive in any situation, so let’s start with the amazing moments of 2013.

  • The first 22 miles of the 2013 Boston Marathon. There are no words to really describe the crowds at Boston. They look forward to Marathon Monday as much as the runners every year. They take their job as spectators seriously and are prepared to help or offer encouragement to anyone who passes by. They are the reason this race is, and will continue to be, the greatest 26.2 in the world.
One of the highlights of the greatest race on earth.

One of the highlights of the greatest race on earth.

  • Moving to the beach. Let’s face it. This view doesn’t suck.
My backyard and daily running route.

My backyard and daily running route.

  • Returning to full-time student status. For so long there were so many reservations about returning to school full time: I can’t leave a full-time job. I can’t go back to bar tending. I can’t go back to wearing yoga pants 5 days a week. Turns out, I can, I did, and my lulus have never looked better or felt more loved.
  • I got Kooienga’d (or as the rest of the world calls it- Engaged) By far, the highlight of 2013 was saying ‘Yes’ when Jim got down on one knee (and was still a little taller than me). As much as I love my new bling, it means nothing in comparison to the security and comfort of knowing that I get to wake up to my best friend every day for the rest of my life. No one has ever supported me in the way he has, and I don’t think many men would have stood by me through the bad months of 2013. In short, my future husband rules.
Our engagement party was so good it gives me hope I can have a real wedding without a panic attack. Almost...

Lesson from our Engagement Party: In 4″ heels, I make it to shoulder height with Jim. When he bends one knee really far.

  • Oh… and one new announcement… We have a new addition to the family! No, I’m not pregnant. But back to that whole “my fiancé rules” thing? Jim had to work Christmas but came home this weekend and told me we needed to go car shopping. Apparently “car shopping” was a rouse to get me to the middle of nowhere to a breeders house where the new little love of my life was waiting for me! We pick him up for good on Thursday and I couldn’t be more excited. Name is TBD, but I’m still gunning for Manning. It fits. He’s a winner.
I need a name!

I need a name!

The not so pleasant moments

  • Having our first home purchase fall through… On closing day. Yeah, that sucked. A lot. But it allowed us to move to the beach and have some serious freedom which we have used to our advantage these past few months. 
  • The rest of April 15, 2013. I have never been more terrified, grateful or selfish than I was in those hours after 2:50pm. Jim called at 2:54 and told me what had happened. The hours of blocked cell reception while he walked 5 miles to get me were some of the worst of my life. Not knowing where my loved ones were, what was happening and feeling so helpless were awful. That day changed my life forever in good ways and bad.
  • The month following April 15, 2013. Jim and I didn’t sleep through the night for weeks. I would wake up at 3:02 on the dot for weeks, frantically squeezing to make sure Jim was there. Then I would lie there and… think. Jim was always either already awake by the time I shot up or was holding on to me so tight I had to wake him up so I could breathe. We watched the news in the middle of the night (probably not the best idea) and reminded each other how lucky we were. We both still wake up some nights a little frantic, but we’re getting there.
  • Being reminded the hard why to be grateful every single day for the freedoms we take for granted. This week saw one of the bad moments as well. Losing a high school classmate who was serving in Afghanistan. His bravery, service and love for life remind me just how much I truly have to be grateful for. Semper Fi Danny, may you rest in the sweetest peace.

Looking ahead to 2014 I have no resolutions. I don’t want to eat less, exercise more, do more charity work or hold a plank for an ungodly amount of time. My only hope for 2014 is to remember all I learned in 2013 and truly enjoy the little things every day. Find joy in the mundane and thank God for everything I’ve been blessed with. And with that…

Happy New Year! 

Leave a Reply

