This Was My Nightmare

It’s happened.

The moment when you look back on your high school self and remember saying “If I’m doing _____ in 10 years please kill me”.

For some that’s still living in their home town.

Others were afraid of rocking mom jeans. For the record, I stand by the mom-jeans thing. If I EVER post a pic of myself in elastic-band-waist-up-to-my-ribcage jeans, please pull the plug. I’ve clearly lost any and all will to live.

Today’s shocker was much less embarrassing, though no less shocking- I’m teaching high school PE. That’s right- I’m a gym teacher.

Going back to school for a MEd in Health Education I knew I’d have to do a lot of observation hours in a lot of different settings. I had prepared myself for that. I never considered part of being a Health teacher these days means also teaching PE in a lot of school districts. To say I’m not cut of for this is an understatement. I’m the girl who faked every possible injury (yes, I considered scoliosis an injury) to get out of gym class. I managed to convince my High School that I should only have to take two years instead of the mandatory four because between my back and my asthma it was really doing a number on me. I was the worst.

Alas, here I am. Trying to make the best of it. Trying to figure out how on earth I’m going to motivate these kids for the next three days and pretend I wasn’t the girl sitting on the bleachers refusing to do anything. I’m a liar. They know it. They must. High school kids can sense these things.

Pray for me.

 

Leave a Reply

