Recovery and October Goals

Sunday was in every sense of the word, a let down. I woke up at 5am with every intention of putting my respiratory infection behind me and toeing the starting line at the Rock n’Roll Providence Half Marathon. I jumped out of bed, got into the shower and well… things just went downhill from there. I started coughing. I started hacking. Hacking led to wheezing. I got dressed for the race, still determined to put it all behind me. I got in the car, drove a mile or so down the road and had to pull over due to another hacking fit. At that moment I had to call it- RnR Providence just wasn’t going to happen for me.

I turned around, pulled back into my recently departed driveway and parked myself back on the couch. I tried my best to fall back asleep, but again, the hacking won. Hacking is a gross term, I realize that and apologize for its use here. There is just no other word to describe what my body was doing. Instead of sleeping I decided my iPad and I would catch up on Breaking Bad. When feeling down on yourself just watch the plight of meth-cooking, cancer ridden school teachers. You’ll feel better about your own life in a flash. You will also consider the pros and cons of a career in the drug dealing business. No one who has ever watched that show can tell me the thought never passed fleetingly through their mind. $80million is just too tempting.  

All the downtime gave me plenty of time to set some goals for the month of October. I think it’s important to start every month with a short term goal to keep you accountable when the long-term goals are still a ways out. Right now one goal is consuming my existence. 3:34:59 at the 2014 Boston Marathon. I trained for 2012 and had to defer. 2013 was out of my control. 2014 will be my year. Not just my year to finish and earn the medal I receive, but my year to earn my spot at the following years Boston the right way. Not through a fluke or tragic gesture of kindness.

So, with that said, October. What’s the game plan?

Get back on a regular training schedule. With school and substitute teaching taking up loads of my time I’ve slacked on sticking to a rigid running schedule. Come December that won’t be an option anymore. It will be easier to adapt now when it’s perfect running weather.

Lose 5lbs. Summer is full of day drinking at the beach, cookouts and parties. I’d like to get back to my pre-summer weight before Boston training is officially underway.

100 miles. Gotta set a base for the inevitable 50+ mile weeks that will be here soon. I’d like to feel prepared for them.

 

So that’s where I am as of today. October is my favorite month of the year so today is basically a kick-off party for me. Happy Fall everyone!

What are your short and long-term goal? How are you planning to kick their butt? Let’s hear it in the comments!

xoxo

Brittany

Leave a Reply

