What’s Going On?

First- Welcome to Happy, Healthy, Sweaty! I took a break from Run Brit, Run! because it started to feel a bit incomplete and a little dishonest to me. Not that I was dishonest on my blog or that running is not a major part of my life- It is a HUGE part of my life and I still am so passionate about it. It just felt like it was missing… something.

While running brought me to embrace so many other healthy lifestyle habits, I love so many other aspects of health and fitness to keep blogging about running alone. I’m currently earning my MEd in Health Promotion and I wanted to feel like my blog was a true reflection of myself and my life. Where I’ve been, where I am, and what I hope the future holds.

With that in mind, Happy, Healthy, Sweaty was born! I hope you find this new blog to be a reliable resource for amazing healthy recipes, recent health news and how it might impact your life, and my favorite new feature- Gymspirations. First one to be posted soon!

I’ll feature other bloggers, readers and just random people who serve as my inspiration to hit the gym when the big comfy chair just looks SO much more appealing. We all have those days. Especially in Massachusetts. At 5am. In January. 

So other than working on the new blog what have I been up to? School has been taking up most of my time. I’ve been working with my amazing advisor to come up with a long term plan and designing a curriculum that will make me appealing to some pretty competitive PhD programs. The idea is that eventually I’ll get my PhD in Applied Psychology or Behavioral Health (a few professors in my department differ in what they think would be best which is making me all the more confused/overwhelmed).

Why on earth am I going through this much school? Eventually I want to teach at the collegiate level and study addiction tendencies in adolescents and children. I am certain there is more we can be doing to help children who show addictive tendencies at a  young age. I plan to find out what it is and help out where I can.

Why do I want to study such a depressing topic? Something I haven’t talked about on the blog before is the impact drug addiction has had on my life. My sister has been a drug addict since she was 17 years old and I’ve watched it destroy her life and tear my family apart. Drug abuse doesn’t just impact the user- it takes a toll on everyone around them. The stigma that comes with being the family member of a drug user is pretty brutal as well. My poor parents have had complete strangers say “Well it had to be her upbringing” and say it comes down to how she was raised. My mother has two other successful, functional, healthy grown children. I want to take the stigma away from being the family member of a user and offer a source of hope. Talking about the problem is the first step in fixing it. Just because they chose that path does not mean it needs to control yours.

I’m so thankful for all the support I’ve had in the decision to go back to school. Jim, my family and friends have all been incredible, and the Twitter love has not gone unnoticed. Thanks so much for all the words of encouragement and reminding me that while this may seem so overwhelming at times, it will be so worth it in the end.

I hope you guys love the new site and are as excited about this new venture as I am. I can’t wait to read your feedback!

Until next time, stay happy, healthy and sweaty!

xoxo,

Brittany

Leave a Reply

