Lightened Pumpkin Cake!

Fall has arrived my friends. The glory of crisp mornings, hoodies, football games, backyard fires, perfect running weather at all times of day and pumpkin flavored everything. Maybe it’s because I’m a Fall baby, but Summer has nothing on Fall. You could call me obsessed. I wouldn’t stop you.

A few days ago I found myself with an extra two hours before I had to be at work. I spent most of the day thinking I needed to be at the bar at 4pm. Turns out, not until 6. So, what to do with an extra two hours in my day? I’d already gone to Tone Up class with Ida, which is quickly replacing Group Power as my favorite weight training class. Picture Zumba, weight training and aerobics combined into one hour of butt-kicking cross training. Obsessed.

Since the workout was done, baking won the extra time. Not homework. Not reading. Not networking. Baking. Sound thinking. I browsed my Pinterest boards to find something fall-like and delicious to embrace my love of the season that is so close to being in full bloom. Or various states of death. However you choose to look at the situation.

I came across this great recipe from Whipped and decided with a few changes, this could defi

nitely work.

Since I’m not a vegan the original recipe certainly wasn’t going to work. I also like to add a few subtle flavors in where I can so I changed up a couple of the plain-er ingredients for even yummier versions. Here’s what you’ll need:

Our cast of characters.

Our cast of characters.

Cake Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup smashed banana
  • 1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 8oz Vanilla Non-Fat Chobani
  • 1 (15oz) can Libby’s pumpkin (store brand never tastes right)
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking soda

With an electric mixer, combine eggs, banana, sugar, oil, Chobani and pumpkin until it is smooth. In a separate bowl combine all the dry ingredients and then sift them slowly into the wet ingredients, continuously mixing on low. Continue mixing until the mixture is smooth and there are no lumps of flour.

Pour mixture into a greased 9×13 pan and bake for 40 minutes at 350.

While the cake is baking, you can start on the icing. Here’s what you’ll need.

  • 8-ounce softened cream cheese. I used regular Philadelphia brand, but I think the whipped version may work better for a lighter, fluffier frosting
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon pre-mixed cinnamon/sugar spice

Add butter and cream cheese together and blend with an electric mixer. Once they are fully combined, add sugar slowly, continuously mixing on low. When the mixture is light and fluffy add the vanilla followed by the cinnamon/sugar. I noticed the little bit of spice in the frosting gave it a whole new, even more fall-like flavor.

The cake cooled, the icing sat and a very impatient half hour later I frosted. And then I ate. Ohhh, I ate.

Moist. Sweet. Decadent. I want more.

Pumkin-y Perfection.

Let me clarify- this is not LIGHT. It is LIGHTENED up. I don’t believe in using fake sugar, chemicals and other grossness to lower a calorie count. Eat real food. Do real workouts. It all balances out.

To run this baby off I’ll be running the Rock and Roll Providence Half Marathon on Sunday. I can’t wait.

Have a great weekend everyone!

xoxo,

Brittany

Leave a Reply

