Not The Healthiest Week

I am a pretty healthy person in general. I eat salads more than pizza, drink my recommended 64oz of water each day, take the stairs whenever possible and even sneak in a long run once in a while. Sometimes I even get 8 hours of sleep. This week, none of those things happened. In fact, if I were to have a physical today I’m pretty sure there would be multiple causes for concern.

As has been pretty typical over the past month, this week was just busy. I have 3 launches over the next 4 weeks and that goes hand in hand with long hours at work. Jim and I also have a wedding to go to this weekend, so Monday night we decided the time had come and he needed to buy a real suit. Taking him suit shopping was one of the greatest things I’ve ever been able to do. He didn’t hate it as much as I thought he would have, but by looking at his face you can tell his was less than thrilled with the whole concept.

He was OK with this, I promise

After 5 options and me acting like this was a GQ photo shoot, Monday was gone and my run was missed. Tuesday was a going away dinner for a co-worker who I’ve worked really closely with for the past few years, so Tuesday was a bust as well. That led to Wednesday, which was the annual Marshfield Fair Supercross race. The boys race, and I… well I eat fair food. This years dinner was a baked potato filled with cheese, bacon and broccoli. It was delicious. Then my little cousin dragged me to this glorious stand…

This is my inner fat kid Mecca

That’s right. Deep fried sweets. By the end of the night I had a deep fried oreo, a bite of deep fried cheesecake and half a deep fried pickle. That was Wednesday. I’m pretty sure my arteries are still mad at me.

The delicious outweighed the guilt

When I finally made my way to the gym last night I expected to be a little lagging. I knew it had been an off week and I probably wouldn’t repeat my glorious 7:40mile. Have I mentioned I ran a 7:40 mile? I’m still pretty excited and it was amazing. To say I didn’t repeat that glorious feat is an understatement. My 2.03 miles were not only slow, but kind of painful.

Not good.

I put the fancy treadmill on “Random Hill” mode which adds a few solid inclines, but still no excuse for that performance. It’s certainly not a confidence booster for the 12 miles I’m hoping to knock out tomorrow morning before Jim and I head to the cape for the wedding. I’m going to try to get those done by 8am so I can shower, nap and get my legs rested for the dance floor madness that will be my night.
I’m trying to get down to Newport the second weekend in September and do my final really long run on the actual course. #RhodeScholars- want to make a day of it? Let me know!

So that’s my week. I will be healthier next week I promise.

Have a great weekend everyone! What’s your mileage looking like for you fall marathon training?

One thought on “Not The Healthiest Week

Leave a Reply

