Favorite Friday: Weekend Workouts

Happy Friday! I know I haven’t written much this week, but to be fair- I haven’t had a lot going on. It’s a recovery week, so there has been some quality time with the elliptical. I planned on doing spin on Wednesday, and Zumba last night but both were cancelled at the last minute. Boo.

Anyways, if you’re new around here, today is Friday and I like to look back at my week and think about my favorite things. If you read Ali On The Run, she has a great Thankful Things Thursday, which was an inspiration for this.

Since there hasn’t been much going on this week, I don’t have many favorite things from the days behind me, so I’m looking ahead. This weekend I have some kick ass workouts planned. I like to plan. Have I mentioned that?

Double Morning Sessions: My favorite Saturday work out since Boston training ended has been a spin class from 8-9am followed by Zumba from 9:30-10:30. Spin still kills me. I’m terrible at it, and my quads aren’t fond of me at all after I get off the bike. Other parts of me aren’t fond either, but let’s not discuss that. After I get off the bike I head back to the locker room where I stretch for 20 or so minutes, then do a nice little walk on the treadmill to shake my legs out. From there, it’s back upstairs to Zumba where I dance like an idiot for an hour and try to get my sexy back. I was not born with hips or boobs. I don’t know how to move these parts of my body in any sort of attractive way. I’m working on it. But the workout is super endorphin heavy and I love it.

Beach Walks and Yoga: I know this isn’t really a super heavy workout, but there’s something really peaceful about just walking as far as you can down a beach on a quiet morning. With the weather finally cooperating, I think this weekend may see a really long, quiet walk along the beach.

Not me, but you get the point.

I also love waking up at the beach (this happens at least once a week over the summer) and sneaking out at sunrise to get some yoga in. It’s hard not to find some inner peace with that view.

Gorgeous.

 

Long Runs: Let’s face it. These are my favorite. The thing I loved most about training for Boston this year was knowing every Saturday morning I had a group of people to run an obnoxious distance with. I have seriously missed waking up ready to face the 15 miles ahead of me. I can’t wait until June 4 when I start officially training for Newport. It’s going to be amazing. I hope.

Ahh, spikes. I miss you.

Post Workout Bloody Marys: They have sodium. Tomato. A full serving of vegetables. Totally healthy, right? That’s what I told myself after Providence last weekend. I passed out halfway through. It was wonderful.

Happy Friday everyone! Have a great weekend and kick your workouts butt!

What’s your favorite weekend workout? Yoga? Runs? Spin? Rock climbing? Let me know and give me some new things to try!

Leave a Reply

