It’s Race Weekend! Let’ s Set Some Goals

Happy Friday everyone! This weekend is the first event in the UHC Triple Crown- The Providence Half Marathon. Last night while I was falling asleep on the couch watching Green Lantern (I know, falling asleep while Ryan Reynolds is on TV is just not ok, but it happens) I got to thinking about what I wanted out of this Sunday. I’m excited to toe a start line. After the crushing non start of Boston, this simple fact is something for me to look forward to. But race wise, what am I really looking for?

Finish: That’s right, just finish. With my knee problems, I think just finishing will be fine by me. Which is something I never thought I’d say.

Enjoy racing: With all the training but no racing that’s been going on since last August, I think I’ve forgotten that I actually do enjoy running races. There’s just been so much build up and let down, I want to enjoy every minute of this race.

Meet the other Rhode Scholars: I’m excited that there is a group of amazing runners/bloggers who are going to be there, and I’m excited to hopefully get the chance to meet all of them. Considering we’re going to be running the same races all summer, it will be nice to have a group of people who understand the training, traveling and intensity of a whole series instead of a one-off race.

It’s not much, but those are my goals for this weekend. And since it’s Friday, here are my favorite things about this week…

Champagne in bed: Yes, this is one of my favorite things to do. And I did it twice this week.

The Cemetery Route: This is my favorite route in my town. It’s a beautiful cemetery, and while I won’t run it anywhere close to dark, it’s a little piece of heaven that is perfect for training. Hills, mix of pavement, gravel and dirt and completely secluded from traffic.

It’s like my own mini Central Park. Minus the tourists.

Movie nights: It’s been a cold, dreary, rainy week. There was lots of movie watching on the couch. It was wonderful.

Chipwiches: And what better junk food to enjoy while watching your movie than a chipwich? They’re amazing, and you can’t tell me any different.

I’m so attractive sometimes.

Happy Friday, and good luck to all the runners this weekend! Racing this weekend? When and where?

Leave a Reply

