The Hardest Decision I’ve Ever Made

Hi Everyone,

For those of you who have been following my training for the 2012 Boston Marathon, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart. Your support has meant so much to me, and I would not have been able to make it through these past 5 months without all your kind words.

If you’ve been keeping track, you also probably know that the past month has not been great to me health wise. A pretty bad IT band, a root canal, a tumble down a flight of stairs and general feeling like death-ness. I thought these would simply be bumps in the training road, but unfortunately combined they have lead to more missed mileage than can be recommended. With the forecast now calling for dangerous heat; my doctor, coaches and my gut all tell me that taking the deferment to the 2013 Boston Marathon is the best decision for me. I’m so sorry to everyone who has been so supportive of me, and I hope you know that no one is more disappointed about this than I am. This is one of the hardest decisions I’ve ever had to make, and I’m so sorry to all of you who have helped me so much.

xoxo,

 

Brittany

3 thoughts on “The Hardest Decision I’ve Ever Made

  1. Hi Brittany- I’m also a CHB Miles for Miracles 2012 runner and I made the difficult decision to defer as well. It’s something I’m still not 100% ok with inside my head, but I really feel as though it were the right decision. For any given run, you have to know your strengths AND your limitations. You did an amazing thing for CHB just by being on the team, logging in the miles during training and dedicating yourself to raising important funding for a wonderful organization. That in itself is an amazing feat. Sometimes making the smart choice is the hardest thing to do. Best of luck to you- I hope to see you next year!

    • Hi Suzanne! It was such a hard decision, but after seeing the numbers from Monday of runners who needed medical attention I’m becoming slightly more OK with it. I had to drop out of the 21-miler due to knee troubles, and got a cortisone shot last Tuesday. My body had been screaming at me to stop for a little while, and I guess mother nature forced me to listen. I’m grateful we all had the option to defer, and I’m excited to come back next year stronger than ever! Thank you so much for the support, it’s nice to know others made the same choice.

Leave a Reply

