What I Learned This Weekend: Nana Can Kick My Butt

Let me say I’m sorry. It was a relaxing weekend and I swore to myself I would enjoy the family time as it came and not blog, check email, or do the other things that normally occupy my weekend. Then yesterday was Monday and it got away from me. Sorry. Now that I’ve apologized, let’s get on with it…

I’m not the fastest, I’m won’t run the farthest and I’m certainly not the most graceful runner you’ll ever meet. All facts. What did I learn Monday morning? That my 77 year old grandmother is obviously more hardcore than I am. But we’ll get to that.

My illusive kitchen is almost completed, and this weekend we all had to pack up and move out while the hardwood floor people came and poured a bunch of nasty chemicals over the floor that will supposedly make them look much prettier. So I grabbed a back and headed exactly 1.4 miles up the road to stay with Nana and Papa (and my Dad). My grandfather was diagnosed with Alzheimers two years ago (prompting my Dad to move in with them), and while he’s doing great, I still make it a point to spend as much time with him as possible.

I'm the only one allowed to do "The Troll" to him. I'm the favorite. Obviously.

Saturday morning I woke up at 8am, grabbed a coffee and was out the door by 9 for the first 10 mile run of the training season.  Staying at my grandparents actually made me slightly more at ease for this. They live 1.5 miles from my house, but that 1.5 is hill packed and very run friendly. This was an automatic 3 added to one of my favorite 7 mile loops, so I knew the layout would give me exactly what I needed. What was also perfect about this run? The trusty Marylous was at miles 2 and 8, so I used it as a water stop. Brilliant. Katrina even kept my bottle behind the counter for me. Yay!

The rest of the weekend was spent hanging with the family, running errands and some cross training on Sunday. I got my Dad a gym membership for Christmas and on Sunday he decided we should hit the gym and I could show him the ropes. I got in some great cross training, and my dad fell in love with the gym all over again. Now let’s be clear- I didn’t get him this membership as a “subtle hint” for anything. My dad is just a huge homebody and I figured this would get him out of the house.

On Monday I woke up ready to hit the hilly route from my grandparents house to mine. The alarm went off at 5:30, I sprang out of bed and I felt incredibly proud that I didn’t hit snooze at all. Then the unthinkable happened. As I opened the door to step outside a car pulled into the driveway. Into you say, Brittany? Yes. Into the driveway. It was my Nana, getting BACK from the gym. By 5:45 she had already gotten in her workout, and shamed her granddaughter. You go Nana.

I did my 3 miles knowing that if Nana had already done her workout, I better pick up the pace. Got home, felt good and the week was off to a good start. This morning? Not so much.

I should really start checking the weather before I head out. Or even just look out the window.

For the remainder of the week I’m house sitting for Ali while she’s in Europe and my kitchen is being finished. I promise. I’ve been told this is the last of it. And it better be. I really need to remember what it feels like to sleep in one place for more than 3 days at a time.

I will be hitting the gym bright and early tomorrow and announcing one of my fundraiser for Miles for Miracles! Yay!

Xoxo

What’s your favorite running route? Trail, road, beach? Give me some ideas for new terrain!

Leave a Reply

