Back to Reality

Well, the holiday work schedule was fun while it lasted. 3 Mondays in a row off, a four day weekend, a three day weekend and no traffic for eight straight days. I knew it had to come to an end, but that didn’t make me feel any better when my alarm went off at 5:15 this morning. Hey alarm clock, remember when I warned you about all the cursing? Well, you can’t say you didn’t know it was coming. Still, sorry about that.

Normally I could be up and out the door by 5:30 to get my training run in, but not this morning. I think it was a combination of the first really cold morning this winter (Global Warming, you’re not so bad), the thought that I actually have to go to work this morning for an 8:30am internal meeting, (Really. On the first day after break?) and the burning ache in every muscle in my body from Advanced Power Yoga with Chris last night. Oh, and those three hill packed miles I did before Yoga may have had something to do with it as well.

I hit the pavement ready to kick some hill packed butt yesterday afternoon, but by mile 1.5 I realized the hills were definitely getting the best of me. This is also about the time my Nike+ decided I had hit “End Workout” when I really wanted to hit “Change Music”. One of my biggest running pet peeves. I hate when I can’t see my whole workout as one summary, instead I have two random workouts 30 seconds in between each other on the same day.

Really, Nike+? You're not making me look very impressive right now.

If you or anyone you know has any influence on the Nike+ people send this little tidbit along. It sadly happens more often than you’d think (maybe I just have sausage fingers and no one has ever wanted to tell me?).  Overall, not my best work, but I felt better being outside and getting my butt kicked than taking the easy route and just hopping on a treadmill or taking the flat roads.

My favorite part about Monday’s off is being able to make it to the Advanced Power Yoga class on Monday nights. It’s at 6, so the odds of me making it are usually pretty slim, so I was beyond excited to get to it for a third week in a row. I’ve held my own pretty well for the past two classes, but last night Chris decided she wanted to really challenge us- you know, for the New Year and all.

Well, challenge was an understatement. We chatarunga-ed, crow-ed and overall beat the crap out of our upper bodies and cores until I thought I was going to pass out. Every time I thought she was going to say “Now take a drink of water, towel off” she said “Swan dive forward” and started the whole cycle over again. But a glorious hour and fifteen minutes later I was a gallon of sweat lighter and felt like I had just gotten the massage of a lifetime. Chris, I don’t know why I ever doubt you. You rock.

But, now it’s back to reality for this little lady. You know it’s going to be an OK return to life when there are no high school kids on the train, the nice conductor lady doesn’t make you pay for a one way pass since you haven’t been back to South Station to buy your new monthly, and I got the prime parking spot at Marylous this morning. ParkMobile lying to me that I didn’t have enough money in my checking account to cover the $4 parking fee this morning though? That wasn’t nice. Please don’t make me freak out like that ever again.

I hope everyone has a good return to reality!

Xoxo

 

Do your workouts pick up or fall off when you’re on vacation? How do you keep the motivation going once you’re back to a real life schedule?

Leave a Reply

