Hey 2012, You’re Looking Good

Yesterday was a lot of planning, and no doing. Nothing. I got out of bed once, and that was to get the cold Chinese food out of the fridge. The best part? I wasn’t hungover. That’s right, I was just that lazy. There are quite a few things I want to accomplish in 2012, and yesterday was dedicated to planning out just what would make the cut and what wouldn’t.

I don’t believe in resolutions– I like who I am. Sure, I have flaws. For instance, right now I’m on the couch watching Maury Povich “Who My Babby Daddy?” and loving every moment of it. It’s not something I’m particularly proud of, but it is my guilty pleasure and I’m not planning on changing it. Could I cut out the second cup of coffee, the occasional grilled cheese or volunteer more? Yes. However, if you resolve to change these types of things just because it’s New Year’s and you feel like you have to, it’s probably not going to happen.

So each year around this time I put out a question to my Facebook world: What should I add to my list of things I want to do/see/accomplish in 2012. More of a checklist (we know how I love those) than things I want to change. Right now, this is what I’ve got!

Meet My Fundraising Goal for Miles For Miracles: I’m excited to announce I officially have a date and location for my fundraiser! February 22, at Ricks Café in Randolph! There will be a more detailed post about this to come, but to know I have the logistics taken care of is relieving. Now it’s time to get cracking on the fundraising! My patient partner Braedyn is the cutest little boy and getting to meet him face to face at the kick-off gave me a whole new motivation for running.

If that face isn't motivation I don't know what is!

Braedyn has Ehlers Danlos syndrome (a joint disorder) and to see his excitement about being a part of the marathon is so inspiring He and his parents are such sweet people and I can’t wait to run in support of their family on race day.

Attend 100 Hot Yoga Classes: I love hot yoga, and I don’t always make enough time for it. The benefits I feel walking out of a class are incredible, and I need to start making cross-training more of a priority. The overall calm and relaxation I feel after sweating out toxins for an hour and a half is incredible. 100 seems like a good even number, and totally reasonable to accomplish. Tonight will be class #1.

Run a sub 4-hour marathon: This is NOT the goal for Boston. The goal for Boston is to finish, and not stop and walk the hills. I do have a time goal in mind, but I’m a little too nervous to put it out there right now. I’ll share it before race day, I promise.  Sub 4 hours will be my fall marathon goal (MCM and hopefully NYC if I make it through the lottery).

Take a real vacation: The last full week off of I work I took was in 2010, when Jim and I took a road trip from Boston to Michigan, from Michigan to Miami. It was an amazing 6 days, but not the most relaxing vacation I’ve ever taken. This year I want 7 days on a beach, without a motocross track, timed training run or internet connection. I’m very open to suggestions for where I should take this vacation.

This was my view for 6 straight days. Lovely, but a beach would be nice too.

Move out of Moms house: I love my mom, but at 26 I’m pretty sure it’s time she and I parted ways. I’ve always wanted to live on my own, and that window is rapidly closing. It’s time to get out and be truly independent for a while. This whole concept scares the crap out of me a little, but I think I’m ready.

Take 25 Spin/Cycle Mix Classes: There’s an amazing class at my gym which is half spin, half aerobic muscle training. I’ve only done it a couple times and it kicks my butt every time. The problem is it’s a 5am class, and hauling my butt out of bed at 4:30 to be on the bike by 5 is a little daunting. But I love how this class makes me feel, and I want to do it more often. Alarm clock, you and I are going to have some rough mornings together, but we’ll get through it. I apologize in advance for the cursing I’m sure you’ll be subjected to the first few days.

There you have it, the first few goals for 2012. I’m a little behind, and still taking suggestions, so if you’ve got some I’d love to hear them!

Happy New Year! xoxo

What are your goals for 2012? I’d love to hear them and get some inspiration for things to add to my own list!

Leave a Reply

