It’s Been a Good Week

You win some, you lose some. This week was a win. Accepted to the NYC Half Marathon, over the plague of the year that cost me a week of training, a short work week and a fantastic three miles last night that felt like a casual stroll. There’s so much to feel good about it’s hard to narrow it down to favorites this Friday. But I’ll try anyways…

Nike+: I’m a tad OCD. I need lists, I need plans, I need to analyze and see how I can be better. Thankfully, Nike+ does all of this for me. It also likes to throw in little motivators like setting small goals for yourself, reaching different levels through overall mileage and random videos from athletes or Champ Kind letting you know you’re kicking some serious butt. If you don’t have it, you should check it out.

Fried Macaroni and Cheese: The comfort food of all comfort foods. I’m not going to pretend that it’s anything other than absolutely terrible for me, so when I see a newscast about to reveal the calorie count I change the channel as quickly as possible. I saw this exact dish featured not once, not twice, but FOUR times on different “Worst Restaurant Foods For You” lists. I know, there’s a chance it will give me a heart attack mid consumption. But I don’t care. After I’ve run 15 miles and feel like I’m going to die, I’m rewarding myself with fried, cheesy, pasta-y goodness. And no list will stop me.

A heart attack on a plate. A delicious, wonderful heart attack.

Amazing girlfriends: So Jim left this week. I’m sure I’ve mentioned that once or twice. It’s my least favorite day of the year when we pack up his van and he heads south for the winter. I know he has to go, and I accepted a long time ago that this is how his job works, but it doesn’t mean I like it. This year I took it particularly hard and decided to throw myself a little pity party. Luckily, I had two amazing girlfriends who were there to kick me out of it. We ate fried mac and cheese, drank a questionable amount of sangria for noon on a Monday, then went and checked out ridiculous prom/bridesmaid dresses and mocked them openly in the store. If that doesn’t cheer you up, I don’t know what will.

They're thinking an "Under The Sea" theme

There you go my lovely readers, this week these are my favorite things. And in case you’re wondering what I’m doing with my NYE being all by my lonely, this is what I have planned for the weekend so far:

Friday Night: Gym date with my dad. Yup. Some father daughter bonding on the treadmill. Should be interesting.

Saturday: Long run in the morning (7 miles this week), and as for NYE I will most likely be on my dear friend Tabs couch with a bottle of champagne eating a tub of spinach dip. I won’t be drinking at all from January 3- Race Day to be in top shape, so I’ll enjoy it while I can.

Sunday: Hot Yoga in the morning, then being lazy for the rest of the day.

That’s my plan. I hope you all have a safe and happy New Year!

Xoxo

Wrapping up 2011, what was your favorite thing? What are you looking forward to in 2012?

Leave a Reply

